Makeup Looks Created with Kat Von D’s Pastel Goth and Review

Hello beautiful ladies,

I wrote about my first impressions and swatched this palette in June (read about it here) if you missed that. Today, I’m going to show you a few looks using the colours in the palette that are at first, a bit daunting and then I’ll give you my review.

The colours I’ve chosen to work with, yellow, green and blue, are the ones I’ve found the most intimidating looking at this palette. The peach and purples will be used in the future but I think they will be easier to use than the shades I’ve chosen.

img_6879

Tuesday, 27th June, 2017

Originally, I had the Smashbox Ablaze palette in mind to create a sunset inspired look with the yellow shade, Star but it didn’t turn out how I had pictured so Violet Voss’s HG ended up achieving this look instead. With such a bright eye, I kept everything else minimal to get my nails done.

Products Used:img_6890

Face: The Ordinary High-Spreadability Fluid Primer, Nars Sheer Glow Foundation, Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze & Glow Face Sculpt and Highlight, Charlotte Tilbury Airbrush Flawless Finish Powder.

Eyes: Kat Von D Pastel Goth Eyeshadow Palette in Skull and Star, Violet Voss HG Eyeshadow Palette in Transition, Hashtag, Wine N Dine and Teddy Bear, Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Powder Duo in Soft Brown, Urban Decay Perversion Mascara.

Lips: Too Faced Melted Liquid Lipstick in Nude.

img_7067

Saturday, 1st July, 2017

If you’ve been following me awhile, you’ll know I’ve become obsessed with a green/brown eye look. I’ve used the Urban Decay Shadow Box previously but that has a shimmer to it so this was a nice matte version.

Saturday’s are work days….

 

img_7047Products Used:

Face:  Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer, Nars Sheer Glow Foundation, LA Girl Pro Conceal Yellow Corrector, Nars Soft Matte Complete Concealer, Nars Blush/Bronzer Duo in Orgasm and Laguna, Anastasia Beverly Hills Illuminator in So Hollywood.

Eyes: Juvia’s Place The Nubian Eyeshadow Palette (top – secons and third from left, bottom – second from left), Kat Von D Pastel Goth Eyeshadow Palette in Gloom, Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Powder Duo in Soft Brown, Tarte Tarteist Lash Paint Mascara.

Lips: Rimmel Lasting Finish by Kate in Boho Nude.

img_7219Saturday, 8th July, 2017

This is actually a recreation of the look I wore to work that day, however, I smudged the black a little on the top (it wasn’t noticeable with my eyes closed) but it showed up in the photos. It’s more dramatic than the other two looks so more suited to night time. The Make Up Geek black single is so pigmented and needs a warning label because there’s no room for error when using it.

img_7290Products Used:

Face: Yves Saint Laurent Touche Eclat Blur Primer, Nars Sheer Glow Foundation, Nars Soft Matte Concealer, Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze & Glow Face Sculpt and Highlight.

Eyes: Make Up Geek Single Eyeshadows in Concrete Jungle and Corrupt, Kat Von D Pastel Goth Eyeshadow Palette in Skull and Doom, Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Powder Duo in Soft Brown, Tarte Tarteist Lash Paint Mascara.

Lips: Too faced Melted Chocolate Liquid Lipstick in Chocolate Honey.

If you would like to see the swatches and first impressions of this palette, click here.

img_7420

Suitable for? Anyone who likes to play with a bit of colour in a matte formula rather than shimmer. I’ve made these colours really pop by using the white shadow, Skull, underneath and using concealer on my eyelids but it is possible to make these colours appear more sheer so don’t be scared off by that.

Is Kat Von D cruelty free? Yes, with a capital Y. Kat is quite vocal about this subject so I’m pretty sure this is one brand that will stay cruelty free as well.

My Thoughts? First of all, I have to explain a little about my makeup journey. Twelve months ago, nude and neutral makeup was my look, with Kat Von D’s Shade and Light palette my best friend. Occasionally, I’d do a night time look with a smoky grey eye and when I was really adventurous, I’d use plum colours. I just didn’t have a lot of time to experiment or much incentive to be honest.

However, when I started up on Instagram to feed my beauty obsession, I discovered that there were a lot of palettes I wasn’t paying enough attention to because they were intimidating. Enter Huda Beauty’s Rose Gold. Love it or hate it (or both), it was the first time I’d really travelled out of my comfort zone. And there was no turning back after that. Once I started my blog, it pushed me even further to expand my looks and so we have it that now, colour doesn’t intimidate me like they used to.

I also want to mention that while studying beauty therapy, I discovered that I had neutral undertones (my veins are blue (cool); dark brown hair with ash tones (cool) and hazel eyes (warm); I tan easily (warm); gold jewellery (warm) and my clothes lean towards cool) instead of warm undertones that I’d always thought. I still lean towards warmer tones but it is definitely a bonus that I can wear both.

So, now that I’ve covered some background…..what about this palette? The colours all felt velvety on the skin but they did have kick up in the pan. My palette is going to look messy very quickly. The white shade, Skull, I used underneath the blue (Doom) and yellow (Star) look to make it pop a little more. I decided against using it under the green this time but may use it in the future. I doubt I’ll use this shade by itself but never say never.

Star, Clementine and Meow are all warmer toned, while Dope, Doom and Gloom are cooler toned and Dagger and Skull are neutral. Even though there is kick up in the pan, there was actually no fallout on my face from this palette. The shades are not as pastel looking as they suggest and the pigmentation isn’t as sheer as my first impressions post suggested. Swatches just don’t do this palette justice. If you read that post, you may remember that I said they were patchy as well but that didn’t translate to my eyes either (though the worse one, Dope, wasn’t used).

Star (yellow) amazed me the most because I will be using this one through spring and summer often. I absolutely adored this look. I’ve seen looks created using most of these colours altogether and even though I’ve expanded my eye looks to include colour, all at once is way too much for me though it does look pretty awesome. I could use two of these shades (Star and Clementine, Doom and Dagger, Gloom and Dagger, Meow and Doom) at a time together though with practise.

Its not a must have palette by any stretch and won’t appeal to everyone but I am happy that I’ve ventured out of my box and even these colours don’t seem as intimidating as they once would’ve.

img_7424

Pros

  • Velvety smooth and pigmented
  • No fallout
  • The colours are quite different to anything I have, especially the blue and yellow
  • The packaging is cool in a way only Kat Von D can do

Cons

  • Kicks up in the pan, making it very dirty looking very quickly
  • If there’s only a couple of shades you’ll use, it’s not worth the price tag
  • You need quite a few palettes to work with all these shades
  • Won’t appeal to a lot of people

So, is it a necessity? Truthfully, unless this palette speaks to you in some way, it isn’t going to appeal. If it doesn’t speak to you, its because this doesn’t appeal to you so you’re not going to get value out of it. If, however, it does speak to you but you’re on the fence, get it. There are so many people that I’ve spoken to through Instagram that regret not buying the Metal Matte palette and from what I can gather, the Pastel Goth is no longer available in the US (it is still available on the Australian Sephora website). There’s no point in regretting a purchase because you’re not 100% sure, especially when it’s a limited edition.

img_7425

I want to thank you all again for reading a two in one post to the end. I hope this has been helpful if you are on the fence about this palette.

You can follow me on my other social media:

Pinterest…….Instagram

Until next time,

Nyobie

img_6348

 

 

6 thoughts on “Makeup Looks Created with Kat Von D’s Pastel Goth and Review

  1. So informative!! I’ll admit I probably would not have looked st this bc they colours scare me, however, I did buy adrongony and I’m getting out of my safe zone.. looking at your makeup looks doesn’t make the palette seem so intimidating.. I love the looks you created.. the sunset and green and brown are gorgeous!!
    It’s a very beautiful looking lot of shades .. you’ve worked well with them ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m on the same journey out of my safe zone. The Androgyny palette is a great palette too to step outside the box.

      I’m glad you found it less intimidating after my interpretation of how they could be used. I saw rainbow looks everywhere for this palette and I wouldn’t wear that out in public.

      Thank you so much for reading my post and liking it – this post took a lot of effort ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can appreciate the time that went into this one. I actually love the rainbow look, I think I’d love to give it go in summer.. yes, Androngony is my stepping stone , I still have gone all crazy with it though.. safe crazy yes, full on out there.. still to come 🤣

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’d love to see your rainbow look 😍 Maybe I’d have enough confidence to do one myself after I’ve seen yours 🙌 I still haven’t used all the colours in the Androgyny either but it’s on my list to review soon 🤗

        Like

Leave a Reply

