Urban Decay Heat Eyeshadow Palette – First Impressions

Hello beautiful ladies,

This palette is everywhere at the moment and I’m not usually into hyped products too much. I’m happy to wait for the reviews and swatches to come out. This palette though, had my name inscribed on it and I knew I had to have it.

img_6859

So naturally, everyone in the US has been posting photos of their palette, while here, Mecca isn’t stocking it until August 29th. Why do we have to wait an eternity for new releases? I swear the shipping company goes via the moon to get to Australia. Okay, I think, if I get desperate, I’ll use HopShopGo to order it through Sephora.

Then, I was going through my junk email (which I rarely do) and Mecca had an offer for Level 3 Beauty Loop holders that had this palette available for 24 hours or until sold out. I was on the website within seconds and ordering. It was fate, I’m sure.

img_6860

  • URBAN DECAY Heat Eyeshadow Palette

  • RRP – $83AUD from Mecca read about it here (available from August 29)

Why? Every week my fiancé and I get $20 to spend how we please – originally it started because we were both spending so much money, his on takeaway and me on beauty products. It’s just to reign in the out of control spending but also allows us a bit of freedom. Well, he still buys takeaway while I save mine. I was saving for the Natasha Denona Sunset palette but I grabbed this instead.

If you read my previous post on the Kat Von D Pastel Goth, (or read it here) you’ll know that palette didn’t speak to me. This palette has been screaming at me since I saw it. There’s levels of communication with me and palettes: some don’t say anything and I forget they even exist (Maybelline The Blushed Nudes), some whisper occasionally but don’t make it onto any list that I need them (Marc Jacobs Style Eye Con – any of them and Too Faced Semi-sweet Chocolate Bar), some cross my radar that often I know I want them but haven’t got around to saving for it or allocating a goal to it (Zoeva Cocoa Blend), some are waiting on my list to buy (Natasha Denona Sunset) and some just scream to me to buy asap (Urban Decay’s Heat).

So, here we are with the Heat palette.

img_6865

First Impressions: I am in love with this palette. These colours are my favourite to use (if you prefer cool tones, this palette is not for you). I’ve seen so many comparisons to different palettes on Instagram, some I have and some I don’t. However, I haven’t seen many swatches side by side of dupes, though they do look similar in the pan.

Okay, so the actual packaging. If you have the Naked Smoky, (I don’t own Naked 1-3) its exactly the same style with the change in colouring. The only difference is the brush they’ve included. I actually loved the brush they included in Smoky so it will be interesting to see if I love this one too. The packaging is actually quite sturdy, expensive looking and eye catching.

img_6861

I love named shadows but there are times I wonder how they’ve come up with a name for a particular shadow. I’m puzzled by Sauced and Low Blow. If someone can enlighten me with those two, I’d be extremely appreciative.

img_6863

From top to bottom:

Ounce: this is a matte/shimmer vanilla that doesn’t show very well on my skin. I know its supposed to be matte but under light, this has a shimmer through it which makes me think it’ll work as an under brow highlight.

Chaser: this shade is a slightly darker than my skin tone matte nude – perfect base shade.

Sauced: I’d describe this a matte terracotta just because it reminds me of my planted pots.

Low Blow: is a matte warm light-medium brown.

Lumbre: this is a to-die-for metallic copper. Highly pigmented and oh so gorgeous. I cannot wait to actually use this colour.

He Devil: is a matte warm medium orange/brown.

img_6862

Trivia – After looking up en fuego, it means ‘on fire’ in Spanish but has translated to the urban dictionary as awesome.

img_6864From top to bottom:

Dirty Talk: this is a highly pigmented metallic bronze – it is absolutely gorgeous.

Scorched: this looks similar to dirty talk in the photo, however, I’d describe it as a metallic rose gold. Again, its very pigmented and absolutely beautiful.

Cayenne: this is a matte dark warm brown.

En Fuego: is a matte dark burgundy, however, its not as pigmented as it looks in the pan.

Ashes: is a matte cool purple/brown. Its more pigmented than the other darker mattes.

Ember: is a dark metallic bronze with grey, almost black undertones. Its amazing as I blend it out on my arm.

First Impressions, part 2: Oh em gee, the metallics are absolutely unbelievable. They are some of THE best metallic shadows I have. The pigmentation is intense. BUT……..the mattes leave me a bit empty. I’m hoping that once I start playing with it, the mattes actually work better on my eyes than swatched.

I’ll put together a few looks and write a post next month for those that are waiting for reviews on this palette before paying so much for it. Thank you for reading 🙂

My other social media accounts:

Pinterest…….Instagram

Until next time,

Nyobie

img_6348

24 thoughts on “Urban Decay Heat Eyeshadow Palette – First Impressions

  1. These colors are beautiful !! I fell in love with this palette as soon as I saw it 😍. UD’s palettes are so hit n miss that I wasnt sure if I should actually get it or not. But by reading your review I really feel like getting it 🙈🙈

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really loved the colours in this one. Naked 1-3 haven’t done enough for me to part with $83 each for them but I had no hesitation with this one. I’m hoping to start using it this week 🤗

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve only got the Smoky and I don’t use it much because it is cooler toned. I honestly haven’t even swatched the others in store. I’ll be doing a post on whether it’s worth the hype too before it’s release here. Thank you so much for your support 🙌

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve gone off the warm toned shades lately so didn’t feel the need to purchase this one (luckily for my bank account). Loved reading your first impressions of it though and can’t wait to see the looks you create with it! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t wait to put some looks together with this either 😍 I’ve been using a lot of warm colours recently but still return to cooler tones here and there (that’s the best part of having neutral undertones 🤗) Thank you for reading 🙌

      Like

  3. You lucky girl!! I definately missed that email, like you I never jump in the hype bandwagon unless it really calls me. I do love this palette but I think I’ll wait for your second review on application .. Loved the post and well done on getting your hands in this ☺️👌🏼

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it was fate that I was supposed to have this palette. I’ll be doing another update next month before the actual release. The cost of UD’s palettes is what usually puts me off but I was going to get this either way but if it’s not worth it, I’ll be honest 🙌

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Like you im honest, I still have to review my huda that I hate and love , conflicted!! I never by hyped products, I need time to sit and think and weigh it up.. They are not cheap and I am not a collector, I actually want to use my palettes so I’ve got to love them.. Your review will much appreciated .. Perfect timing !!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I feel the same about my Huda as well but I wouldn’t give it away or anything drastic 🙈 There’s so many palettes out there these days that I have to really want something or I’m just not interested anymore. I have too many now that I’m happy with (some I’m not so happy with too). I’ve scheduled the full review for the end of this month (plenty of time to decide before the official release) and it gives me plenty of time to play with it a lot before making a decision.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I don’t know why I’m hung on huda, sure some colours are beautiful but the palette has not wowed me, I love my Carli Bybel, which cost 1/3 of the huda.. I guess I kind of hate it bc it was so expensive and I expected ANAZEBALLS , which it isn’t.
        My gf who is not a makeup freak brought the UD through Mecca, I saw it up close.. its beautiful!! Colours and palette.. I could buy this one 🙌🏼🙌🏼

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I think for me the Huda takes a lot more effort to use and I have to use my fingers (which I’m not a fan of) and that’s why it’s a bit of a love/hate.
        The Heat is even more enticing in person I think – it’s so hard to capture that packaging and the colours. At least you have plenty of time to think about it and if you still really need it, you were meant to have it. That’s how I decide on some items – if I really want it after a month still, I was meant to have it, if I don’t, there’s my answer.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. YESS!! It’s an effort, this palette just isn’t easy even though the shades are mostly pretty, but I don’t like using my fingers, I can’t be precise with the textured shades which muck up my look, I find the shades blend well but are grainy and I like buttery smooth.. Sigh.. it’s just an annoying palette.. for me anyway 🤣

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I don’t like using my fingers either for the exact reasons – it never looks precise enough. I absolutely love the colours though so it’s a bit of an inner struggle. I totally understand your thoughts on it but then, if someone offered to take it off my hands, I wouldn’t let it go 😜

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

