The Ordinary. – ‘Buffet’ Serum Review

Hello beautiful ladies,

Last Friday I reviewed the Argireline* Solution 10% (click here to read) if you missed it. Today, I’m going to review ‘Buffet’, another serum I’ve been using for six weeks.

I won’t go into the company or packaging again as I have already done that and for those of you who read my posts, I don’t want to repeat the same information, but if this is your first read, then please click the link to read the Argireline Solution if you want to read about those.img_6649

Supplier? I ordered this through Beautylish when I ordered the Argireline Solution, however, Adore Beauty is an Australian online company that I have dealt with before and recommend. Internationally, you honestly can’t beat the service from Beautylish.

Suitable for? All skin types with concerns about ageing.

Consistency? Similar to other serums I’ve used but not as thick as a moisturiser and not as thin as a essence or toner.

What are the claims? ‘ ‘Buffet’ is a water-based serum that targets multiple signs of aging with a host of anti-aging technologies. It contains several peptide and probiotic complexes in a base of skin-friendly amino acids and hyaluronic acid. It reduces fine lines and wrinkles, fades dark spots, hydrates, brightens, and promotes firmer, smoother skin.’ from the Beautylish website.

Ingredients? Aqua (water), Glycerin, Lactococcus Ferment Lysate, Acetyl Hexapeptide-8, Pentapeptide-18, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-1, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-38, Dipeptide Diaminobutyroyl Benzylamide Diacetate, Acetylarginyltryptophyl Diphenylglycine, Sodium Hyaluronate Crosspolymer, Sodium Hyaluronate, Allantion, Glycine, Alanine, Serine, Valine, Isoleucine, Proline, Threonine, Histidine, Phenylalanine, Arginine, Aspartic Acid, Trehalose, Fructose, Glucose, Maltose, Urea, Sodium PCA, PCA, Sodium Lactate, Citric Acid, Hydroxypropyl, Cyclodextrin, Sodium Chloride, Sodium Hydroxide, Butylene Glycol, Pentylene Glycol, Acacia Senegal Gum, Xanthan Gum, Carbomer, Polysorbae 20, PPG-26-Buteth-26, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Trisodium Ethylenediamine Disuccinate, Ethoxydiglycol, Sodium Benzoate, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin.

What does that mean? The 8 ingredients after water and glycerin are the active anti-ageing technologies. These anti-ageing technologies are combined with a base of 11 skin-friendly amino acids and multiple hyaluronic acid complexes. The total concentration of active ingredients in the formula is 25%.

There is no alcohol or silicone in this serum which is usually a big problem for many people. There are a lot of ingredients in this serum compared to The Ordinary.’s other serums, however, the claims are that this serum contains a vast array of ingredients to treat multiple concerns.

img_6650

Is The Ordinary. cruelty free? This is the statement on Deciem’s website ‘Deciem does not test on animals and does not pay others to do so. For this reason, none of our brands are sold in mainland China since such sales require animal testing for registration purposes.’

I love the fact that they’ve been upfront about that little known fact. Many companies claim to be cruelty free but will allow the testing in China and profit from the sales.

Scent? I can’t detect a scent at all.

My thoughts? I usually have quite dry skin in winter or at the very least, lots of dry patches and this year, my skin actually looks amazing for this time of year. I have changed a lot in my routine since last year so I can’t say for sure its all down to using this serum. However, once this bottle is finished, I’m going to stop using it and see if I can tell a difference that way.

What I can say though is that it doesn’t leave my skin sticky, oily or dry after I use it. I also notice that overall, my skin looks more even toned and moisturised. I stopped using other serums while I was testing this one (except the Argireline Solution) just to see the actual results and I am very happy with this as a serum.

I was using Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair when I bought this (and that costs $140), so I stopped using it with every intention of taking it back up after I’d completed my blog post on it, however, I’ll be using the rest of that bottle and if I’m not testing anything else, I’ll be ordering this one again.

Pros

  • Affordable
  • Targets multiple signs of ageing at once
  • Hygienic dropper to dispense
  • Odourless
  • Cruelty free
  • Alcohol and silicone free

Cons?

  • I honestly can’t think of any

img_6654

So, is it a necessity? I’m not going to say that this won’t be replaced with something else in the future, because I do test products for their skincare benefits and to pass that information on to you and often it means swapping another product out.

However, if you are looking for an all round anti aging serum that you can use morning and night then this is for you. If you’re skincare routine needs to be simple and effective, then this is for you. If you need a product that doesn’t cost a lot, but still delivers then this is for you. If you have any concerns about ageing, then this is for you too.

I will definitely go back to using this when I’m not testing other products though.

I hope you enjoyed my split review of these products and thank you for reading 🙂

My other social media accounts:

Pinterest…….Instagram

Until next time,

Nyobie

img_6348

8 thoughts on “The Ordinary. – ‘Buffet’ Serum Review

    1. I do recommend you try a few of their products and their primers are very good too (I prefer the Fluid Primer over the silicone one but that’s just personal preference). The good thing about this brand is that you can try a few different products without spending a day’s earnings 🙌 Thank you for reading 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

