The Ordinary. – Argireline* Solution 10% Review

Hello beautiful ladies,

The Ordinary. has literally been everywhere at the moment so of course, I had to try this brand out as well. I’ve been using the Agireline* Solution and ‘Buffet’ for over six weeks now so I’ve had plenty of time to really test and notice results. I will be doing the ‘Buffet’ review next week as they are so in depth.

I chose to add products from this line one or two at a time so I could monitor results more thoroughly and will review other products from this line in the future.

Who is The Ordinary.? ‘The Ordinary is a brand from Deciem. We are an umbrella of brands focused on advanced functional beauty.’ from The Ordinary website.

Deciem also has Hylamide and NIOD under its umbrella.

The brand tagline is ‘Clinical Formulations with Integrity.’ The Ordinary. is a rare brand in that its refusing to raise pricing  for effective clinical technologies. img_6649

Packaging? The box is white with the brand, ml, name of product and the tagline on the front with ingredients, directions, product targets and has all information in English and French.

The bottles are frosted glass with droppers and has the same basic information minus the ingredients on it. The packaging isn’t over the top expensive looking but its functional and still very pleasing to look at and……it photographs well for Instagram. I love the dropper for serums because you get the whole product out whereas a pump often leaves some behind with no way to get into it.

img_6652

  • THE ORDINARY. Agireline* Solution 10% 30ml
  • RRP – $USD7.90 ($AUD10.36) from www.beautylish.com 

Supplier? I use the American online store Beautylish a lot because I love their customer service and delivery is always super fast (plus I wanted other products that they stock), however, I did find this in stock on www.ry.com.au for $13.90 if you’d rather a local supplier. I might just place an order through this company anyway to see what delivery and packaging is like.

Suitable for? Anyone with concerns about signs of aging, including fine lines.

Consistency? Quite watery that absorbs quickly into my skin.

What are the claims? ‘Argireline is a trademark owned by Barcelona-based Lipotec. It is a proprietary solution of Acetyl Hexapeptide-8. Controlled studies have shown that Argireline improves the appearance of facial areas prone to developing dynamic folds, including around the eyes and in the forehead area.’ from The Ordinary website.

‘Agireline Solution 10% is a lightweight, water-based serum with Agireline, a peptide complex that improves the appearance of expression wrinkles, especially around the eyes and forehead.’ from the Beautylish website.

Ingredients? Aqua (water), Propanediol, Acetyl Hexapeptide-8, Trisodium Ethylenediamine Disuccinate, Gellan Gum, Sodium Chloride, Isoceteth-20, Ethoxydiglycol, Potassium Sorbate, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin.

What does that mean? Argireline is the third ingredient which is the active ingredient. Propanediol controls the viscosity (thickness) of a fluid. Basically, with such a small ingredient list, you’re buying active ingredients without extras.

If you have heard negative facts about Agireline and avoid it, I would urge you to look into the ingredient thoroughly before making the decision to use this product or not.

img_6651

Is The Ordinary. cruelty free? This is the statement on Deciem’s website ‘Deciem does not test on animals and does not pay others to do so. For this reason, none of our brands are sold in mainland China since such sales require animal testing for registration purposes.’

I love the fact that they’ve been upfront and honest about that little piece of information. Many companies claim to be cruelty free but will still profit from Chinese sales.

Scent? I’ve never noticed it before but I can smell a very faint chemically scent when I bring the dropper up to my nose. However, this is my second bottle and its the first time I’ve noticed it so you’ll be fine if you don’t sniff the dropper.

My thoughts? I didn’t really have high expectations from this brand to be honest because the products are so affordable (not that expensive means better either). I have used products in this price range that really haven’t done a lot for my skin, and these claims were pretty impressive.

It is very watery in consistency so I apply a drop or two to my fingertips and pat under my eye area out to the temple, in between my eyebrows and on my forehead. I have been doing this after I apply toner and essence in my routine, morning and night.

The results weren’t immediately noticeable. I have fine lines under my eyes with a line starting to appear in between my eyebrows and a line on my forehead so I thought I was a prime candidate for this product. After a couple of weeks, I noticed that concealer wasn’t setting into my fine lines under my eyes, making me look 50.

After four weeks, I started to notice that I wasn’t taking 50 photos of my makeup because the eyebrow line showed up (I hate that line and my face has to be completely relaxed for it to go away, which is difficult when you’re in a rush).

This week, week 6, on two separate occasions, I was told I was looking very ‘fresh’ and ‘youthful’ (I didn’t ask what I looked like before). The female who told me I looked ‘youthful’ asked if I had changed my makeup – no; then asked what skincare I was using. I am sure she went home and looked this item up after I spoke to her.

I have noticed a huge improvement in my fine lines (I regret not taking before and after photos now) under my eyes and an improvement to my forehead and eyebrow lines, though they haven’t been as noticeable.

I still use my regular eye serum, Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Eye Serum, on top of this product because it’s not a replacement for your eye cream.

Pros

  • Affordable
  • Cruelty free
  • Reduces fine lines
  • Hygienic dropper to dispense
  • Nearly odourless

Cons?

  • Quite watery to apply

img_6655

So, is it a necessity? In my current skincare routine, this product has a place that won’t be replaced. In fact, I’ve ordered another two for backup. If you are concerned with those early signs of aging, especially fine lines under your eyes, I would give this product a go and for $14 locally, what do you have to lose?

I originally had the ‘Buffet’ review scheduled in with this one (I plan a month in advance), however, after writing it and realising it was over 1000 words for just one product, I decided to split them. The ‘Buffet’ will be scheduled for next week.

Thank you for reading πŸ™‚

My other social media accounts:

Pinterest…….Instagram

Until next time,

Nyobie

img_6348

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “The Ordinary. – Argireline* Solution 10% Review

    1. So am I – it’s really performed so well for me. I’ve ordered a few more products to try as well but I don’t want to add too much at a time. Thank you for reading 😊

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I was so surprised with this one. I’m amazed that my fine lines are almost gone and Concealer is no longer a problem. The affordability is like the icing on the cake. Thank you for reading 😘

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

