Inside My…..Holiday Essentials Makeup Bag

Hello beautiful ladies,

I went away for 8 days over the Easter break and packed for what felt like a month. I’m sure I’m not the only one who does that but as I was unpacking, I thought it would make a good post to reveal what I had narrowed down in my makeup bag and what I did and didn’t use. I personally love these types of posts, just to see what other people can survive with on holiday.

Most of the time, I didn’t bother with makeup at all (I was on holidays after all) but I knew we would be going out at least 2 of those nights so I had to make an effort. I also ended up going to a café for lunch one of those days and used a bit of foundation and mascara.

Products I didn’t use:img_5946

Too Faced Melted Chocolate in Chocolate Honey: I just didn’t wear makeup enough while I was away and when I did, this was going to be a bit too dark for those looks.

Nars Blush Duo in Orgasm and Laguna: Again, I just didn’t use makeup enough to wear this.

Tarte Tarteist Lash Paint Mascara: I thought I may use this for my going out look for intensity, but in the end, I went a bit more natural on the lashes.

It Cosmetics Bye Bye Redness Correcting Cream: I brought this in case I had any blemishes pop up while I was away, but thankfully, I didn’t have that problem this time.

Products I did use:

img_5947

Tarte Tartelette Eyeshadow Palette: I prefer taking a matte palette away because it can be so versatile for day and night and this palette is perfect because it is smaller than others and is sturdy enough to handle travel. I used it for a brown smoky eye on one of those nights.

Smashbox Covershot Ablaze Eyeshadow Palette: I thought I’d pack this just in case I wanted something a bit different (I need choices when I go out) and I ended up doing a golden orange halo one night. It just felt like a perfect afternoon sunset beach look. The palette itself is small and compact with a sturdy case and a magnetic close that I felt wouldn’t just fly open (the lid sits down inside the case).

Too Faced Sweet Peach Glow Palette: I love multi tasking palettes and this has my blush, bronzer and highlighter all in one with a sturdy, travel friendly size case. I used it for both looks.

Too Faced Primed & Poreless Face Primer: I could’ve chosen a few to take with me but this one came in the most travel friendly  sized tube with a lid that wasn’t likely to wriggle off with some movement in my case. It’s a great all round primer too.

Nars Sheer Glow Foundation: To pick one foundation that does day and night looks without the threat of lids coming off and pumps being accidentally pushed, I picked this one. I can use the tiniest amount to give me just a hint of coverage like a BB cream or use a bit more and have medium coverage. Perfect for travel.

Charlotte Tilbury Airbrush Flawless Finish Micro-Powder: This was chosen because it is in a compact with minimal chance of mess (unless it was broken during travel). I was pretty confident though that the case was sturdy enough to handle the trip.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Definer in Soft Brown: I can’t go out without my eyebrows done – it really makes a difference when I have them done. I could keep my makeup super simple with foundation, eyebrow pencil and mascara if I was in a rush but I need my eyebrows done. This pencil has the spoolie in one end and is compact for travelling – multitasking product.

Benefit Roller Lash Mascara: I love this mascara – it does everything. I can keep it natural with one coat, build it up with two coats and not have it clumping, curl my lashes, separates them and adds volume. And I have it in the mini size – perfect for travel.

Jeffree Star Velour Liquid Lipstick in Mannequin: This has become my perfect my-lips-but-better nude. It stays on for longer than an hour (some transfer while eating and drinking though), is super comfortable to wear and looks great on.

Brushes I couldn’t do without:img_5945

Lottie London Powder Brush: this is my favourite powder brush but I probably didn’t need to take it or the CT powder for that matter.

Mecca Cosmetica Complexion Perfecting Brush: this is only a recent addition to my collection but it is hands down, the best. It doesn’t absorb a ton of product, is firm yet soft and my foundation is flawless. Must have.

SL Miss Glam Blush Brush: this brush is so soft, I love how it feels on my skin. I have used it for bronzer, highlighter and blush before when I’ve had to clean other brushes so its a multitasker.

Sigma Strobing Fan Brush: Another one I didn’t need as such but when I’m not at home, I don’t clean between uses (quickly with a spray and makeup wipe rather than a shampoo and a mat) so I didn’t want to use the blush brush for highlighter than the next time, have highlight in my bronzer.

Nude by Nature Blending Brush: I used this one for the base, under brow highlight and transition as well as blending. It’s so soft that it doesn’t irritate my eyes if I use it a lot. Plus, I wasn’t taking 10 eyeshadow brushes.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Medium Shader Brush (A13): I used this for the more precise application of colours in my eye looks, on the actual lids and it can be used under your eye as well, though I didn’t do that while I was away.

I’d just like to add that all these items did not fit into that Ciate makeup bag. In fact, my makeup bag is not fit to be photographed anymore because I’ve used it that much but its just so convenient (it has a zip that makes the top open like a book so I can see everything at a glance) and the perfect size. But this Ciate bag looks so much prettier 🙂

Until next time,

Nyobie

img_3737-1

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Inside My…..Holiday Essentials Makeup Bag

Leave a Reply

