Korean 10 Step Skincare Routine

Hello beautiful ladies,

I have been using Korean skincare for a few months now and for the most part, I love them. There are a few misses though that I will be reviewing in a seperate post. For this post, I want to share the routine I’m currently doing. I will show you the products I’m using but I’m still in the middle of the review process so I can’t give my opinions on the products just yet.

Now, when you read this routine, please don’t take it as gospel because I have basically just used the internet to research the routine and it does vary depending on the website. I’m listing the routine as I’m currently doing it.

img_4686

Step 1 – Makeup Removal – PM only

This step is to remove the makeup you spent half an hour to apply. Normal cleansers just don’t do the job, even if you double cleanse. Cleansing wipes or a makeup remover product on a cotton pad is essential. I use SWISSE Micellar Makeup Remover (not pictured).

Step 2 – Cleanse – AM and PM

At night, this step will be a double cleanse with the first cleanse an oil-based cleanser to remove any residue makeup product. I use INNISFREE Olive Real Cleansing Oil.

Morning and night, I use a cleanser for my skin type to remove any residue from the night products I’ve used or the makeup remover and oil based cleanser. I use SKINJEX Salicyclic Cleanser for this step.

Step 3 – Exfoliation – PM, 2 times a week only

Exfoliation is crucial in any skincare routine but the biggest problem is over exfoliating. Depending on what my skin needs, I use either ORIGANI Manuka Honey Peel which is a non abrasive formula that is suitable for sensitive skin, or SKINJEX Lactic Microderm Exfoliant which is a manual and acid-based scrub.

Step 4 – Toning – AM and PM (also known as skin softeners and refreshers)

Toning is something I’ve never been diligent about daily but toning preps the skin by balancing pH levels and adds some hydration to better absorb the following products. I use ESTEE LAUDER Perfectly Clean Hydrating Toning Lotion/Refiner.

Step 5 – Essence – AM and PM

This is the most important step in the Korean routine and the one step I haven’t done before. An essence has been described as hydrating and aiding skin repair, as well as allowing the following products to penetrate deeper into the skin. I use MISSHA The First Treatment Essence which has been compared to SK-II Facial Treatment Essence but a more reasonably priced option.

img_4690

Step 6 – Serums, Boosters & Ampoules – AM and PM

My night routine includes more serums than my morning routine because cell turnover and repair is at its highest while you sleep. I’ve also read that this step can incorporate a few different products that address your skin issues and that the rule of thumb, is thin to thick consistency. I use CLEAR SKINCARE Hydrapeel, IT’S SKIN YE Effector, INNISFREE The Green Tea Seed Serum and ESTEE LAUDER Advanced Night Repair in that order.

My morning routine consists of the INNISFREE The Green Tea Seed Serum only. These products are tapped into your skin.

img_4687

Step 7 – Sheet Masks – PM, 2 times a week

I only do this step twice a week, however, I have read that some people do it every day. This step forces your skin to absorb the nutrients and moisture better before the product has a chance to evaporate. I use a range of different sheet masks for this step.

img_4688

Step 8 – Eye Cream – AM and PM

This is usually the area most people start to feel ages them because the skin is so delicate. Its in the technique of applying eye creams that makes the difference – tap the product in. I use ESTEE LAUDER Advanced Night Repair Eye Cream.

Step 9 – Moisturiser – AM and PM

This is another step that can be layered. Rather than a heavy moisturiser in summer, I’ve decided to go for two lighter ones with ETUDE HOUSE Moistfull Collagen Emulsion and INNISFREE Green Tea Balancing Lotion. These are applied with gentle strokes or patting the product into your skin.

Step 10 – Sunscreen – AM or Sleeping Pack – PM

Sunscreen is the single most important item in anyone’s routine and the best preventer of aging from sun damage so this is a vital step. I use a variety, depending on whether I wear makeup or I want it tinted or even where I’m going.

A sleeping pack is used to prevent all the previous steps from evaporating while adding hydration. I had never used one before I started using Korean skincare but I am addicted. I use LANEIGE Water Sleeping Mask.

So, that’s my new routine which I will be fully reviewing in about 4 weeks. I have already been doing it for 2 weeks and I like a minimum of 4 weeks to trial skincare but I really want to be able to share the difference in my skin and whether its worth it. I will write the review in two parts – one with full reviews of the products and the second with a full review of the actual routine so that I don’t bore you with a novel all at once.

This routine takes me about 15 mins every night and about 10 mins every morning with my facial nights taking about an hour. I have also used a mixture of Korean brands as well as Australian and American brands.

Please note also that my information has been read from various sources and there are a few variations, so if you find different information or do the routine differently, it is by no means the wrong way just because I’ve written the steps in this order.

Until next time,

Nyobie

img_0523

 

 

19 thoughts on “Korean 10 Step Skincare Routine

  1. I am so interested in this! My skin care routine is similar to this, but I definitely don’t do certain steps, so I’m really looking forward to seeing what you use and whether it is effective or not so I can try adding those steps into my routine! I love skincare, I think it is so relaxing to do at night and it makes me feel great in the mornings! Well worth the extra time, I think! xx

    Like

    1. I’m really impressed with a lot of the products available but their sheet masks are just amazing and reasonably priced if you want to start small. I’ve been using the masks a lot longer and Skin Republic has some great masks.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It is definitely a commitment that’s for sure but I’ve read that in Korea, skincare is ingrained from pre teen years so it’s normal for them. I can understand that reasoning because a lot of us don’t do anything but damage our skin in our teens and early twenties. I’ll be writing about whether it’s worth the commitment too 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so into Korean cosmetics so I’m really happy to see your posts! I’ve been using a korean routine since 3-4 years and I’m so happy with how my skin changed and look healthier and better! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am starting to see the benefits of the routine but I have to let my skin go through it’s usual rejuvenation stages as well to really see results. I’d love any feedback or any products you’ve used that are holy grails 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

