Finding a New Foundation

Hello beautiful ladies,

I am sorry its been 10 days since I last posted – I have a sick baby at the moment and he’s been a lot more clingy so I just haven’t had a chance to write.  He is okay, its just the heat knocking him around a bit so he ended up with diarrhoea and not wanting to eat. He still has diarrhoea but he is drinking plenty of fluid (not eating food much though) and is generally a lot better today.

Anyway, the post I’ve been meaning to write for the last week has been about my search for a new foundation. I am currently using Maybelline Fit Me Matte & Poreless, Jexon Cosmetics Stick Foundation and Too Faced Born This Way. While I am happy with both the Maybelline and Jexon Cosmetics ones, they are medium and light to medium respectively in coverage. The Too Faced is my full coverage and I am not happy with it. When I first bought it, I loved the coverage, the wearability and the way it made my skin feel moisturised, after a while, I was noticing that it was cakey after a few hours.

To be fair, my skin changes all the time, and at the moment I’d say I’m combination with an oilier than usual T-zone and dry forehead and cheeks. When I started using it, my skin was dry. However, when I looked up details about it, it was supposed to be marketed at dry to combination skin types. It is not suitable for oily skin types, so I don’t know what combination skin they are talking about.

So, this starts me on my journey to finding a new one. Where do I turn? Instagram, of course. I start asking questions about foundations and holy grails etc. I read about other peoples’ experiences with foundations and ones that didn’t work.  After a few weeks, it became clear that two really stood out for a majority of people – Estee Lauder Double Wear and Nars Sheer Glow.

 

img_3966

While I was at Mecca, I picked up the Sheer Glow and I picked up the Double Wear from Myer (along with some skincare products and a bunch of samples) last week. I also ordered the Kat Von D Lock It from Sephora because it did get an honourable mention from so many people as well.

From these three, I’m hoping I find my perfect medium to full coverage foundation. I have started the review process but I’ll be doing more in depth reviews and comparing the three for a future post.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on your foundation and whether you have a holy grail.

Until next time,

Nyobie

img_0523-3

10 thoughts on “Finding a New Foundation

  1. I love the Estée Lauder one!
    I’ve tried sheer glow and when it went on it felt lovely but a few hours later looked patchy I have oily skin. I’ve just got the Kat Von d one for Christmas and don’t love it. I can’t get it to blend well goes patchy feels very thick on the skin too!

    I look forward to a full review 🙂

    Tania
    http://www.taniaalexandraribeiro.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I so hope I love the Estée one too 😍. I tried it the other day but it was hard to say because it was so hot, I was sweating like crazy 😱. I have been taking notes though so the full review on the three will be coming.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Foundations are so tricky! I usually just use a BB cream because I am too scared to branch out 😦 I have been using the Loreal True Match and it’s okay, I’m not crazy about it, but it’s nice enough. When I’ve used a bit more of that I think I will go to Mecca to get samples of the Sheer Glow and the Josie Maran Vibrancy foundation because I’ve heard good things about them. Can’t wait to hear what you think of the Sheer Glow!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m using the Sheer Glow this week to test it. I used it this morning and it went on very nice so I hope it ticks my review boxes.

      I know how hard it is to match the right foundation Shade and formula – it’s the most frustrating makeup item for me to be honest. However, I really like the MAYBELLINE Fit Me and it’s not too expensive if you want to branch out a little more. I’ll have my reviews up of all the foundations in a few weeks anyway so keep an eye out for that 😊

      Liked by 2 people

    1. It’s quick and easy to use. I use a beauty blender to blend it and Farsali’s Rose Gold Elixar to give me a dewy finish. There are some days I just want a light medium coverage that’s quick and looks great. I’ve only tried Jexon Cosmetics though in the Stick Foundation.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

