November Empties 2016

Hello beautiful ladies,

This month I was able to use up 6 of the products from my #17by2017 challenge which I was quite proud of. Read about that here. I also used some samples up which I can hoard a bit.

final-40

  • THE BODY SHOP Coconut Shower Cream & Strawberry Shower Gel
  • RRP – $10.95 each 💰💰

The strawberry shower gel was a struggle to use because the smell is so sickly sweet and not at all like real strawberry to me. I would say this would be great for tweens who love that sweetness but for me, no.

The coconut shower cream is beautiful though. I love the smell of coconuts because it takes me to tropical beaches and I love that. This one was a bit thicker though and worked great in winter when I wanted all the moisture of a cream I could get but I find it too thick in the summer months.

These two shower cream/gels were counted as one for my challenge.

  • Repurchase? The coconut one, yes.

 

  • NUTRIMETICS White-Age Luminous Skin Serum
  • RRP – $68.00 💰💰💰💰

I actually really liked this serum for hydrating and making my skin glow, however, I didn’t notice any whitening or lightening in my skin as it claims. I also don’t believe it evened my skin tone so for $68, its not worth it.

  • Repurchase? No, it simply doesn’t live up to its claims.

 

  • OLAY Regenerist Luminous Brightening Cream Cleanser
  • RRP – $15.99 💰💰

The brightening effect of this cleanser is achieved by gentle exfoliation to reveal more glowing skin rather than a brightening treatment. Personally, I love gentle exfoliating cleansers if they don’t dry my skin and there are cleansers out there that seem to strip my skin while they exfoliate but I am happy to say, I love how this one doesn’t. However, if you are wearing makeup, make sure you’ve removed it all first because it just doesn’t remove all traces. I really liked this cleanser but its not my holy grail.

  • Repurchase? Yes, but not until I’ve used some of my other cleansers.

 

  • THE BODY SHOP Vitamin E Overnight Serum-In-Oil
  • RRP – $34.95 💰💰💰

This oil is amazing in winter for my dry, flaky skin. I used it religiously every night before my moisturiser and my skin felt so much better for it. I forgot a couple of times and I could tell straight away because my makeup was flaky and my skin just felt tight. However, I just can’t use it in summer because my skin gets too oily with it on in these hotter months which is what was happening towards the end of this bottle.

  • Repurchase? Yes, I’ve already got a bottle for next winter.

 

  • AVON Anew Clinical Micro-Exfoliant
  • RRP – Discontinued

There seems little point for a review if you are unable to buy a product any longer, however, just for the sake of this post, I did like this exfoliant. I used it once a week, (it says its gentle enough for everyday use but I disagree) before my mask and I liked how it really made my skin feel clean but I believe it was on the harsher side too. Sometimes, my skin just couldn’t handle this exfoliant.

 

  • REVLON Age Defying Firming & Lifting Makeup
  • RRP – $29.95 💰💰💰

I stopped using this when I bought the Maybelline Fit Me, but for the sake of finishing this bottle, I had to use it again and I honestly don’t know why I stopped. It’s a great foundation with medium coverage that I found worked well with a brush or with a blender. Plus, it comes in a pump bottle! That is a bonus for any foundation because I waste so much without one. I can’t really say if it firmed or lifted my skin because my skin doesn’t need that but I am doubtful a foundation could do those things anyway. I still think I prefer the Fit Me but the bottle on that foundation is making me waste so much and its driving me nuts so if I switch back, that will be the reason.

  • Repurchase? – Yes, not as a regular though.

final-39

  • KATE SOMERVILLE Nourish Daily Moisturiser and Nourish HydraGel Mask samples
  • RRP – $94.00 & $79.00 💰💰💰💰💰

I can’t go into a lot of detail with samples because they aren’t going to show long term results from a sample. What they do do is to give you a sense of whether you want to fork out for the full sized or not.

The moisturiser, while I thought it was great and perfect for summer, I will not be paying $94 for right now. I need more than that to buy a product so expensive. The mask, however, may be a future purchase because my skin actually really benefited from the hydration. The only downside to the mask was it washes off like a jelly and took quite some time.

  • Purchase full sized? – Maybe the mask.

 

  • DR DENNIS GROSS Ferulic + Retinol Wrinkle Recover Peel Sample
  • RRP – $128.00 for 16 sachets 💸

Again, one treatment isn’t enough to see a lot of results and my first impression of this was the smell was a bit offensive. The second thing is for optimum results, you have to use it 2-3 times a week! I simply can’t afford that on top of my other skincare.

  • Purchase full sized? – No, I’m not made of money.

 

  • TARTE Maracuja Oil Sample
  • RRP – $48 💰💰💰

I didn’t like this oil at all and I am grateful for the sample because it was on my wishlist. I have heard some great reviews but for me, it just didn’t work. The oil sat on top of my skin and just didn’t penetrate. It states that it provides instant hydration without leaving it greasy but I was slick.

  • Purchase full sized? – No

 

  • ALCHEMY Leave-In Conditioner Sample
  • RRP – $19.95 💰💰

I didn’t really pay much attention to this at the time – it smelt nice, it left my hair less frizzy and wasn’t overly heavy. However, after going back to my usual leave-in, I realised this was actually so much better. It didn’t create an oily look and kept definition to my waves without added weight.

  • Purchase full sized? – Yes

final-38

  • SKIN REPUBLIC Sheet Masks in Platinum Lift and Brightening Vitamin C
  • RRP – $7.99 💰

I love sheet masks because they’re easy and you can target different skin concerns without wasting a full jar or bottle. The brightening mask is my favourite at the moment because I do notice it evens out my skin tone and does make my skin radiant. The lifting one didn’t give me noticeable results but to be honest, I don’t really need firming and lifting.

  • Repurchase? – Yes, the Vitamin C one.

 

  • SKIN REPUBLIC Collagen Hydrogel Under Eye Patch
  • RRP – $9.99 💰

There are three pairs of under eye treatments in this sachet so it works out to be quite affordable. I prefer the vitamin c eye mask to this one although, I do notice that any fine lines are temporarily smoothed with these. It targets dark circles, puffiness and loss of elasticity but I have none of those concerns so I can’t say if it does.

  • Repurchase? Not these eye masks, no.

 

  • SKIN REPUBLIC Collagen Hydrogel Mask
  • RRP – $12.99 💰💰

This mask is made in two pieces made from a jelly like substance which moulds perfectly to my face. My biggest issue with this one is that its supposed to be left on for 30-40 minutes and it was peeling off my face well before that. It did hydrate my skin but for true results, you need to use it twice a week for four weeks.

  • Repurchase? No, it didn’t impress me enough.

 

So that’s the empties for the month of November and if you’ve read to here, you’ve done well because it was a lot longer than I thought.

Until next time,

Nyobie

img_0523-3

 

 

15 thoughts on “November Empties 2016

  1. I love how careful you are with details. You described everything so well, I could honestly imagine it. Like the “sickly sweet” scent of the strawberry shower gel. 😄 Luv this post!

    Like

    1. I’ve been really trying to get these 17 products finished and I’m hoping to have most finished by the end of this month. I adore The Body Shop most of the time but I love their Coconut range the most.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the sound of that shower cream! Sounds so lovely and delicious. Too bad I’ve already stocked up way too much on bath and body stuff during Black Friday sales 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

