October Empties 2016

Hello beautiful ladies,

I’ve been following a lady on Instagram who has made it her mission to empty her unused products this year. It made me realise that I have a terrible habit of opening something, buying something new and pushing the opened product to the back where it gets forgotten about until eventually I throw it out because I can’t remember when I opened it.

Now, I’m not going to stop buying products (that’s too much to ask) but I am going to finish opened products that I do like so every month, I’ll do an ’empties’ blog and review the products. If I empty something I’ve already reviewed, I’ll let you know which month to find that review if you’re interested.

final-10

  • THE BODY SHOP Shea Shower Cream
  • RRP -$10.95 💰

I love The Body Shop and have done for awhile and their shower creams are so moisturising. They don’t contain soap but it does still lather nicely. If you use a loofah, a 10 cent piece size amount is enough to do your whole body. I find my skin is soft after using shea because of the moisturising qualities of shea butter. The only let down for me is the smell – its so light, I don’t get that scent that lingers on my skin after using other shower gels or creams. I would say this would be a perfect scented cream for anyone that didn’t want that strong scent and even for men who don’t want to smell like fruit or flowers.

  • Repurchase? – Not this particular scent, no.

 

  • THE BODY SHOP Vitamin E Cream Cleanser
  • RRP – $19.95 💰💰

I probably had a splurge on The Body Shop products at some point and that’s why I’ve finished two at the same time. This cleanser wasn’t bad at all and my skin didn’t feel dry and tight afterwards like some cleansers do but then, I wasn’t raving about it either. There were times when it was too ‘gentle’ and just didn’t cleanse excess dirt and sweat off, or sunscreen. I always use a makeup remover to remove the majority of my makeup but if I didn’t, I doubt this product would remove it. So, as a morning cleanser, its great but for a night cleanser, it just doesn’t cleanse well enough.

  • Repurchase? – No

 

  • NUTRIMETICS Loofah Shower Gel
  • RRP – $24.00 💰💰

I actually wouldn’t pay this price for a shower gel but I bought it on special for $9.95 a while ago so I thought, why not? First of all,  I love the smell of the apricot extract as I’m washing myself and as it lingers on my skin afterwards. Second, the loofah particles are quite small,  but still dense enough in the gel formula to lightly exfoliate and ‘buff’ the skin but not so large that its classified as a scrub or body exfoliator. It worked better on a cloth than a loofah though. I used a facial cleansing cloth because of the smooth texture.

  • Repurchase? – Yes….on special.

final-8

 

  • DR LEWINN’S Line Smoothing Complex S8 Triple Action Day Defence
  • $74.99 💰💰💰💰

I’ve bought this day gel twice now and I do love it. It has little beads in a gel formula that burst as you press on the pump so that they disperse on your fingers already crushed and mixed. The three different coloured beads contain Caviar Extract (gold), Black Currant Oil and Lipochroman-6 (lilac) and Vitamin E (white). It feels silky going on and sinks into my skin immediately, leaving a slight shimmer from the gold beads. It moisturised well without feeling sticky or sitting on top of my skin. I felt it is one of the best day moisturisers I’ve tried so far.

  • Repurchase? – Yes

 

  • DR LEWINN’S Line Smoothing Complex S8 Eye Recovery Complex
  • RRP – $74.99 💰💰💰💰

I’ve bought this eye cream twice now too (to use together with the day defence). I love this eye cream because it actually smoothes my fine lines (shock, horror) and moisturises the eye area without feeling greasy so its perfect under makeup. In the morning, I just gently patted the cream around my eye area and at night, I used a bit more product, patted in on but used it like a sink in mask and let it sink in before patting the residue in. It really did sink in and just smoothed the whole area. By doing this though, the tube didn’t last very long at all – probably six weeks, which isn’t long for an eye cream but worth it. I would recommend this for anyone that is worried about fine lines around the eyes.

  • Repurchase? – Yes

final-9

 

  • VERSO Day Cream with Retinol 8
  • RRP – $146 💸

I received two of these samples with orders from Mecca recently and was curious as to what it was like, given the high price tag on a full sized version. Well….I was disappointed to say the least. Being a moisturiser, I know its supposed to ‘protect’ the skin, therefore it doesn’t penetrate deeply but this left me with a shiny residue that even my makeup couldn’t hide. Then, after 5 days, I broke out as well. Maybe if I’d only tested one, I could’ve saved my poor skin the trauma. It may be a great product for some people, but my combination skin does not approve at all so thankfully I didn’t buy a full sized version.

  • Purchase? – No

 

  • SKIN REPUBLIC Collagen Hydrogel Under Eye Patch
  • RRP – $9.99 💰

I do like these patches for what they do – targets fine lines, puffiness, dark circles and dryness but I still reach for an eye cream afterwards. They are suited for people with those concerns because I did test them out on my fiancé as well who does suffer puffiness and dark circles. The difference on his eye area was amazing, especially when he was tired and it was showing in his eye area.

  • Repurchase? – Yes, for my fiancé

 

  • SKIN REPUBLIC Brightening Eye Mask
  • RRP – $9.99 💰

This is the eye mask I love – my whole eye area is treated with a mask that’s soaked in a serum that just sinks into my skin. I don’t need to put a cream on afterwards. It has Vitamin C and B3, coffee bean and green tea to brighten dark circles (great if you’ve been up with a baby at night). Then, the serum has a cooling affect which reduces puffiness as well (I don’t have puffiness so I can’t say whether that worked).

  • Repurchase? – Yes

final-7

 

So, that’s my empties for this month and my essay. I’ll start my stockpile for this month’s empties to share with you all as well. It’s an amazing feat that I was able to empty so many but I’m making it a mission to finish products (this may not include makeup though) and samples. I won’t even go there about my sample collection…..

Until next time,

Nyobie 😘

img_0523-3

 

 

Leave a Reply

