MAYBELLINE Fit Me Matte & Poreless Foundation and Fit Me Concealer

Hi beautiful ladies,

The past year has seen my skin go through hormonal skin imbalances (that’s what they call it, but in reality, its breakouts, pigmentation, oiliness, dehydration….everything) because of my pregnancy, then the after effects of that combined with going back on the pill has left my skin looking less than perfect. I’m the first to admit that when my skin looks blah, my confidence is the same.

Due to these changes, and it reflects in no way about the brand I was using, but I’ve found the foundation was making my skin look worse. So I reached out on Instagram and asked what other people swear by. The Maybelline Fit Me came up and so I bought it (on sale of course.)

  • MAYBELLINE Fit Me Matte + Poreless Foundation
  • RRP – $19.95 💰💰

final-5

The Fit Me liquid foundation range comes in two types – dewy + smooth and matte + poreless. I am reviewing the matte one only. The first thing I’d like to say about it and I was put off a little, is that the bottle is just that – there’s no pump so be super careful when you’re pouring it out. I waste so much because it just comes out suddenly in a rush. (I don’t put it back in the bottle for the same reason I use a spatula in jars – bacteria is makeup and skincare’s worst enemy and if I’m trying to put it back in off my hand, I can guarantee there’s a lot of bacteria on there.)

The second thing I’d like to say is that it doesn’t matter if you use your fingers, a beauty blender or a brush (my preference), the coverage is excellent. It is buildable to full coverage but I often use it for a medium natural coverage and even a ‘I’m-not-wearing-makeup’ coverage (use a beauty blender).

The third thing I’d like to say is that it does what it says – it has a matte finish and my pores are virtually invisible. I did test this out with no primer just to make sure it was the product and not a combination. It does wear all day when I use a setting powder and a setting spray. Without those, I feel it starts to look a bit dull and cakey after a few hours (that’s for full coverage).

I have found this foundation to be my perfect everyday use one, regardless of whether I’m after a sheer, medium or full coverage. I won’t say my skin is perfect now but it helps to hide the little imperfections I hate. The downside for a lot of people is that, even though I found my perfect shade, there are only 6 colours in the range.

  • Repurchase? – Yes, definitely
  • MAYBELLINE Fit Me Concealer
  • RRP – $14.95 💰💰

final-4

I’m not as big a fan of the concealer as I am with  the foundation. To me, I find it settles into fine lines and develops a cakey look if I’m not careful. To be honest though, the foundation is that good that if, after you’ve applied it, you still need a little concealer, you won’t be needing much. I haven’t used it to cover fresh breakouts but it works okay with redness and pigmentation. In saying that though, I’ve used better.

  • Repurchase? – No, there’s better concealers.

So, if you’re after a relatively cheap everyday foundation, and you can match one to your skin colour, then Fit Me is perfect but there are better options for a concealer out there. I’m going to do a VS on concealers and foundations in the future so keep an eye out for that.

Until next time,

Nyobie 😘

img_0523-2

2 thoughts on “MAYBELLINE Fit Me Matte & Poreless Foundation and Fit Me Concealer

Leave a Reply

